The National: Best Contemporary Photography 2014

The debut of The National coincides with the launching of the Fort Wayne Museum of Art's new collecting initiative focusing on contemporary photography and its goal of developing a preeminent biennial exhibition of only the best contemporary photography.

The exhibition is a hybrid invitational and juried exhibition, anchored by famous photography standouts Julie Blackmon, Martina Lopez, Richard Renaldi, Nick Veasey, and Sharon Harper as well as the work of dozens of talented photographers from across the country pushing the boundaries of the medium with adventurous techniques and original subject matter.

In terms of aesthetic quality, technical innovation, and cultural relevance, contemporary photography has increasingly proven its dominance as a 21st Century art form.  This new biennial exhibition, features prominent invited artists and juried entrants with the intention of showcasing the finest work being created or exhibited in the nation.

Special Exhibition tickets at $5/person are required in addition to general admission for this exhibit. Special Exhibition tickets are required on free general admission days. All members receive free Special Exhibition tickets. Become a Member. 

Anna Agoston
Ben Altman
Ransom Ashley
Morgan Barrie
Andreas Baumgartner
Ashley Beatty
Robert Beauchamp
Matthew Bender
Shannon Blosser-Salisbury
Andrew Borowiec
Derrick Burbul
Wendy Burton
Ernie Button
Christie Lynn Caputo
Scott Dalton
Jason DeMarte
Frances Denny
Marcus DeSieno
Virgil DiBiase
Daniel Dienelt
Jess T. Dugan
Geoffrey Ellis
AnnieLaurie Erickson
Mary Fashbaugh
Ramak Fazel
Jonathan Frank
David Gardner
Jennifer Georgescu
Robin Dru Germany
Stanislav Ginzburg
Bryan David Griffith
Garin Horner
Irene Imfeld
Ellie Ivanova
Thomas Jackson
Joe Johnson
Shannon Johnstone
Michael Joseph
Ryota Kajita
Alice Kivlon
Kristianne Koch
Nina Korhonen
Daniel Kramer
Paul Lewis
Yijun Liao
Sophie Lvoff
Pete McCutcheon
Monika Merva
Chloe Meynier
Elaine Miller
Robert Moran
Lake Newton
Lydia Panas
Min Kim  Park
Stephen Perfct
Rebecca Reeve
Frank Rodick
Jef Russell
Amy Schreiber
Peter Schulz
Martina Shenal
J Michael Skaggs
Alison A. Smith
Alexander Solomon
Jarrid Spicer
Andrea Swartz
Jason Swisher
Yosuke Terada
Jeremy Underwood
Samantha VanDeman
Ira Wagner
Terri Warpinski
Rhonda Weppler
Trevor Mahovski
Arturo Yañez
Darci Young

May 1: 1st Thursday Gallery Talk
12:15 - 12:45pm
Enhance your exhibit experience and broaden your perspective with an interactive gallery talk, given by artists and knowledgeable speakers each first Thursday of the month. Free with gallery admission. 

May 2: Spring Party
6-9pm / $5 Members - $12 Guests
Celebrate all Spring exhibits with music, food, and friends. Enjoy BakerStreet edibles and music by the End Times Spasm Band. Sponsored by Braun Wealth Management.
Get tickets here. 

May 31: Distinguished Lecture Series Presents Martina Lopez
2-4pm / $5 Members - $10 Guests
The National invited artist Martina Lopez, Associate Professor of Photography at the University of Notre Dame, will present on her work and contemporary photography in the context of the exhibit. Reception to follow.

311 E Main Street
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
Gallery Hours Tuesday - Saturday: 10am-6pm
Thursday: 10am-8pm
Sunday: 12-5pm
Administrative Office Hours Monday - Friday: 8:30am-5pm
P: (260) 422-6467
F: (260) 422-1374